Ireland bat again, WI bring in Khary Pierre and Romario Shepherd

Kevin O’Brien tucks the ball behind square © Sportsfile/Getty Images

Toss Ireland won the toss and chose to bat v West Indies

Mindful of the wear and tear on a pitch that had already been used for the first ODI of this series, Ireland have decided to bat again in Barbados. Andy Balbirnie admitted that the visitors’ batting had underwhelmed, putting it down to a set of players who are still acclimatising to conditions in the Caribbean. Nevertheless, he went into the game with the same XI.

West Indies, who are leading the three-match series 1-0, had to make a couple of forced changes. Keemo Paul and Roston Chase made way for left-arm spinner Khary Pierre and seam bowler Romario Shepherd .

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Gareth Delany, 3 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 4 William Porterfield, 5 Kevin O’Brien, 6 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 7 Mark Adair, 8 Simi Singh, 9 Andy McBrine, 10 Barry McCarthy, 11 Boyd Rankin

West Indies: 1 Shai Hope, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Brandon King, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Khary Pierre, 8 Romario Shepherd, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Sheldon Cottrell, 11 Hayden Walsh

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.