Kane Williamson returns as New Zealand bowl first

Toss: New Zealand chose to bowl v India

Kane Williamson returned from his injury, and immediately won the toss, asking India to bat first in order to prevent a first ODI bilateral whitewash since 1989. Virat Kohli said India were anyway looking to bat and challenge that aspect of their game now that the series was lost.

There was no place for Rishabh Pant still in India’s XI, and the only change the visiting side made was to bring in Manish Pandey for Kedar Jadhav. Apart from Williamson replacing Tom Blundell, New Zealand made one more change to their winning combination from Auckland. Mitchell Santner was well again, and he replaced Mark Chapman.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Henry Nicholls, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 KyleJamieson, 11 Hamish Bennett

India: 1 Mayank Agarwal, 2 Prithvi Shaw, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 KL Rahul (wk), 6 Manish Pandey, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Navdeep Saini, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Jasprit Bumrah