Kohli, Bairstow, Gayle named for Asia XI v World XI matches

Virat Kohli is likely to be available for one match for the Asia XI that will take on a World XI in the Bangabandhu 100-year celebration three-match T20I series in Dhaka next month. Kohli is among six Indian players named in the Asia XI, with KL Rahul also slated for a one-match appearance. Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been included for all three matches.

Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan announced the names of the players in Dhaka on Tuesday, and also said that Faf du Plessis, Chris Gayle, Rashid Khan and Jonny Bairstow are among those who will play for the World XI side.

However, although BCB said Kohli would play one game, ESPNcricinfo understands the BCCI is still waiting for the Indian captain to confirm his participation.

Asia XI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane

World XI squad: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (capt), Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan

More to follow