New Zealand bat, both teams unchanged

Toss New Zealand elected to bat v India

New Zealand won the toss in the second T20I, and pulled off a minor surprise by deciding to bat first. India certainly were not complaining as they would have chased anyway had they won the toss.

Kane Williamson’s reason for that choice was that they were playing on a used pitch, and were not expecting any dew on a windy evening. The dew had hampered them in the first game but they were confident of perfect conditions with the wind blowing.

Both sides retained their XIs, which meant Shardul Thakur kept his place ahead of Navdeep Saini. It also meant that New Zealand continued with two spinners on a small ground. India lead the five-match series 1-0.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt.), 4 Colin de Grandhomme, 5 Ross Taylor, 6 Tim Seifert (wk), 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Tim Southee, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Blair Tickner, 11 Hamish Bennett

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 KL Rahul (wk), 3 Virat Kohli (capt.), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Manish Pandey, 6 Shivam Dube, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Yuzvendra Chahal, 10 Mohammed Shami 11 Jasprit Bumrah