Tamim Iqbal returns for Bangladesh’s T20I tour of Pakistan

Hasan Mahmud, the 20-year-old medium pacer, is the only brand-new face in Bangladesh’s 15-man squad – which doesn’t include veteran Mushfiqur Rahim, who opted out citing security concerns – for the three-match T20I series in Pakistan later this month.

Mahmudullah will continue to lead the side, which has a few more changes from the one that lost 2-1 on the tour of India late last year. Abu Hider, Arafat Sunny Jr, Mosaddek Hossain and Taijul Islam have been left out, while Tamim Iqbal makes a comeback after last playing for Bangladesh in an ODI in Sri Lanka in July 2019.

Offspinning allrounder Mahedi Hasan, batsman Najmul Hossain Shanto and Rubel Hossain have also been brought in.

The three matches will take place in Lahore, on January 24, 25 and 27.

Squad: Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud.

More to follow…