Yuvraj Singh and Wasim Akram join Bushfire Cricket Bash

Yuvraj Singh and Wasim Akram will take part in the Bushfire Cricket Bash next month with more cricketers and sportspeople from other codes confirming their presence for the fundraising match which will be staged ahead of the Big Bash final on February 8.

Phoebe Litchfield, the 16-year-old batter who plays for Sydney Thunder, New South Wales and Australia A, has been included alongside Elyse Villani and the big-hitting Grace Harris, who has been a star of the WBBL.

From outside the world of cricket, four-time Australian Rules premiership star Luke Hodge will join the game alongside New South Wales State of Origin coach Brad Fittler.

Mike Hussey, Brad Haddin, Andrew Symonds and Matthew Hayden are other former cricketers set to put the pads on again.

It had previously been confirmed that the two teams would be captained by Shane Warne and Ricky Ponting. Last week, Sachin Tendulkar (Ponting XI) and Courtney Walsh (Warne XI) were named as coaches of the sides.

Steve Waugh and Mel Jones will be involved in a non-playing capacity alongside former rugby league star Andrew Johns, who famously played two T20 games for New South Wales in 2007 before the current Big Bash was formed.

The Bushfire Cricket Bash is part of a triple-header day of fundraising efforts for the Red Cross to support those effected by the devastating bushfires across Australia this summer. Earlier in the day, Australia and India will play their women’s T20I tri-series match in Melbourne before the relief match takes place ahead of the BBL final.

The venue for the BBL final will be confirmed on January 31 after the Qualifier takes place. The Melbourne Stars are confirmed as hosting that match and will face either the Sydney Sixers or the Adelaide Strikers which means the final will be at the MCG, SCG or Adelaide Oval on February 8.

Current playing squad for the Bushfire Cricket Bash Shane Warne (capt), Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Brad Fittler, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Elyse Villani, Grace Harris, Justin Langer, Luke Hodge, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Phoebe Litchfield, Shane Watson, Wasim Akram, Yuvraj Singh.